ART IS A MEANS OF TRAVELLING

ROBERT VAN DER HILST

Robert Van der Hilst (born 19..) Dutch Artist

Robert Van der Hilst had worked a lot with the Dutch institute in Paris, and had a lot of exhibition in the French capital. I didn’t know about him at this time, but I had an unexpected meeting with his work in Shanghai in 2010. At this time I was on internship into Jing’an district and had week-ends to stroll in the city streets.

Since 2004, Robert had travelled all over China in order to catch up the society quick transformation and the dazzling modernization of urban life. Before that he was working a lot in Latina America where he also travelled a lot. I like his work on Cuban society too.

About Cuban Interior

From 1990 untill 1998, I was persona non grata in Cuba. In 1999 I was allowed back to Cuba, on assignment for STERN. In 2001 I started new work on the island, with financial assistance from “l’institut Néerlandais”. I decided to photograph only interiors with their Cuban habitants in the small town of Baracoa, Cuba. In September 2001 my book ‘Les Cubains’ was published and again I was declared persona non grata by the Cuban government. I decided to continue photographing interiors among Miami Cubans. In nov-dec. 2002 I presented the exhibition ‘Cuban Interiors’ at “l’Institut Néerlandais” in Paris.

 

 

Cette entrée a été publiée le novembre 19, 2012 à 8:43 . Elle est classée dans PHOTO et taguée , , , , . Bookmarquez ce permalien. Suivre les commentaires de cet article par RSS.

2 réflexions sur “ROBERT VAN DER HILST

  1. Pingback: WOLF/VAN DER HILST/HU « ART IS A MEANS OF TRAVELLING

  2. Le , Tiago Silva a dit:

    A reblogué ceci sur Caixa Preta.

Laisser un commentaire

